Tips for applying for a Schengen Visa

The Schengen area covers 26 countries (“Schengen States”) without border controls between them.

These countries are Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

These countries apply the common visa policy for short stay visas (90days/180days). A Schengen visa is not appropriate if you wish to remain in a Schengen country for longer than 90 days, take up employment or establish a business, trade, or profession.

Below are the 10 tips for applying for a Schengen Visa;

  1. Apply for your visa early – The new Schengen Visa policy, with effect from February 2020, permits visa applications to be lodged six months before the start of the intended trip. This allows for ample time to get cheaper flights, as well as an assurance of traveling at an intended period.
  2. Be patient after submission – The Schengen visa application when submitted to the consulate takes 15 calendar days for a decision to be made by the Consulate.
  3. The Visa Fee has changed – The new Schengen visa policy revised the general visa fee from the equivalent in Naira of EUR 60 to EUR 80. Thus, with effect from February 2020 applicants are expected to pay the equivalent of EUR 80 in their national currency
  4. Keep an extra copy of Documents submitted at the time of visa application – This is necessary for two reasons. Firstly, having a Schengen visa does NOT guarantee entry into Schengen member states. It is therefore required to present other documents (usually proof of funds, return tickets, accommodation, and medical insurance) at the
    Schengen external borders apart from your travel document with the valid Schengen visa.
  5. Keep an extra copy of Documents submitted at the time of visa application – Secondly, in the case of visa rejection/refusal, having a copy of the previous documents submitted will aid in your post-refusal review–a service provided by to unearth minute mistakes that may have impeded the approval of your visa
    application and consequently increasing the chances of approval in your subsequent visa application
  6. Apply to the Member state of first entry – The Schengen visa code stipulates that holders of a valid Schengen visa are expected to make their first entry through the member state that issued the visa. For example, Mr. Olamide needs to travel to Germany for a conference and later intends to visit an old friend in France. Mr. Olamide is advised to apply through Germany since his member state of first entry is Germany
  7. Apply to the Member state of the main purpose of stay/longest stay – Applicants are required to apply through the member state they will be staying longest as well as the member state of the main purpose of stay. For example, Miss Mary is to represent her Organization in a meeting in Vienna, Austria. She also wants to use the
    opportunity to see the Eiffel Tower in Paris, France. Miss Mary is expected to apply through Austria as that is the member state of the main purpose of visit
  8. Apply to the Consulate of territorial competence/jurisdiction – Applicants are required to apply through the Consulate legally assigned to handle visa matters for applicants in that jurisdiction.
  9. Apply to the Consulate of the country in which you legally reside
  10. Seek professional help – Applying for a visa is a rigorous process and seeking
    professional help is important in reducing the risk of visa rejection. has an array of services that will aid in conveniently applying for your visa application.

These services include Advisory and Counselling, Document Check, Financial Review & Capacity Assessment, Bookings and Reservation, Mock Interview session, Form Filling Service, Appeal letter, and Administrative Review.

Click here to get started for free