The United States has explained why it slammed the immigration ban on six more countries, including Nigeria, the most populous nation in Africa.

Henceforth, citizens from Nigeria, Eritrea, Sudan, Tanzania, Kyrgyzstan and Myanmar will not get visas that can lead to permanent residency.

A US top official explained that the new measures were the result of failures by the countries to meet US security and information-sharing standards.

“These countries, for the most part, want to be helpful but for a variety of different reasons simply failed to meet those minimum requirements that we laid out,” acting Homeland Security Secretary Chad Wolf told reporters on Friday.

He added that non-immigrant visas – including visitors, those doing business or people seeking medical treatment – would still be issued.

In 2018 the US issued more than 8,000 immigration visas to citizens of Nigeria, just over 2,000 were issued to Sudanese nationals, 290 to Tanzanians, and just 31 to Eritreans.

The new rule was implemented just over three years after President Donald Trump signed the original travel ban on January 27, 2017, a week into his tenure.

DAILY POST recalls that the ban was upheld by the US Supreme Court in June 26, 2018.

It affected Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen, Venezuela and North Korea.

This article was culled from: